Gustavo Kuerten presented with Jean Borotra Sportsmanship Award
/ Categories: 2011

Gustavo Kuerten presented with Jean Borotra Sportsmanship Award

As reported earlier this year a panel of media and IC representatives has awarded the 2011 IC Jean Borotra Sportsmanship Award to Gustavo Kuerten, affectionately known as “Guga”. The trophy has previously been won by Stefan Edberg, Chris Evert, Todd Martin, Maria Bueno, Pat Rafter and Kim Clijsters.

The presentation of the award was made in Florianopolis, Brazil, by Gustavo Herrero, member of the Executive Committee of the IC Council, following an exhibition match between Guga and Carlos Moya in the presence of 5000 fans. Carlos, another former number 1 ranked player in the world, is a member of the IC Spain, and joined Gustavo in the award ceremony.

The exhibition was just one of the many events held during the Guga Kuerten Week 2011 which is endorsed by the highest tennis authorities and state and local government. It includes the Guga Kuerten Cup in which some 600 junior boys and girls participate from 8 to 18 years old and the Guga Kuerten Wheelchair Cup. Mini tennis is organized all over the city in car parks and on squares to enable people to play tennis who have never been exposed to the sport. There are also tennis clinics for deprived children and training sessions for tennis coaches. The programme furthermore includes presentations about the work of the charitable Instituto Guga Kuerten on how it uses sport as a tool for social inclusion and to improve environmental awareness (for more details see

Guga’s mother and his brother are all involved in these activities, a reflection of the true warmth of this family. It has been absolutely the right choice to award Guga the IC Jean Borotra Sportsmanship Award. His charisma, his silent philanthropic activities, and the support that he elicits, even after several years of retirement, are all most impressive.
Previous Article Gustavo Kuerten recibe el Jean Borotra Sportsmanship Award
Next Article Spanish legend Manuel Orantes to be inducted to the International Tennis Hall of Fame